ARRUF CHARTER Adopted 6/1/17

The Association of Retired Rice University Faculty serves the interests of Rice University and the association's members, affirming key Rice values: Responsibility, Integrity, Community, and Engagement. The mission of the Association of Retired Rice University Faculty is to transform traditional forms of faculty retirement through innovation and collaboration. It promotes intellectual and scholarly activities, service, and collegiality among members. The Association organizes its affairs independently; it also may work collaboratively with the University's Schools, Departments, Institutes, and organizations.

<u>Charter and By-Laws Ratification and Revision</u>: The Association's members will revise and ratify the proposed Charter and By-Laws, preferably at the first meeting of the members as a whole. Revisions to either document may be proposed and adopted by the membership as needed.

<u>Steering Committee</u>: The Steering Committee, structured to ensure continuity, timely action, and shared responsibility, will direct the organization. A three-person Executive Committee will lead the Steering Committee. The inaugural committee appointed by Provost Marie Lynn Miranda will act as the Steering Committee for the first two years of the Association. It is desirable for all the Schools of the University to be represented on the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee will be required to call a general business meeting of the Association at least once a semester. Elections and voting may occur on-line to accommodate members who cannot conveniently come to campus. Details of its operation are covered in the By-Laws.

<u>Working Committees</u>: Working committees may include but will not be limited to the following: Nominating Committee, Communications Committee, Budget Committee, Activities Committee, and University Liaison Committee. An Executive Committee of two or three cochairs will lead each committee. Working committees may be formed by proposal and vote of the members as well as by a call issued by the Steering Committee.

<u>Membership</u>: Membership will include automatically all classes of faculty, both tenure-track and non-tenure-track, who have retired from the University faculty as *retirees*. Policy 422-98 defines *retirees* as "... individuals who leave the University's employ at the conclusion of a minimum of ten consecutive years of benefits-eligible service and for whom the sum of age and length of service is at least 65." Members' spouses and partners may participate in the organization's activities as non-voting associate members, even when the member is deceased. These qualifications for membership may be revised by the vote of the members and approval of the Provost.

<u>Support:</u> Provost Marie Lynn Miranda has agreed to provide funds annually for the Association based on its proposed budget for the coming year's activities. The budget may include funds to support research, publication, and conference participation for retired faculty who continue to be active scholars and researchers. University offices will provide relevant services to assist members in managing the organization's affairs.

This version reflects the recommendations of the Provost's Office transmitted by Jana Callan.